CompTIA, Security +

This 5 day CompTIA Security+ training class will prepare you for the CompTIA Security+ (2013 Edition) Certification examination (exam number SY0-401). In this Security+ course, you will build on your knowledge and professional experience with computer hardware, operating systems, and networks as you acquire the specific skills required to implement basic security services on any type of computer network.


  • Identify the fundamental concepts of computer security.
  • Identify security threats and vulnerabilities.
  • Examine network security.
  • Manage application, data, and host security.
  • Identify access control and account management security measures.
  • Manage public key infrastructure (PKI).
  • Manage certificates.
  • Identify compliance and operational security measures.
  • Manage risk.
  • Establish key components of the security infrastructure.
  • Manage security incidents.
  • Develop business continuity and disaster recovery plans.


  1. Security Fundamentals
    1. Information Security Cycle
    2. Information Security Controls
    3. Authentication Methods
    4. Cryptography Fundamentals
    5. Security Policy Fundamentals
  2. Security Threats and Vulnerabilities
    1. Social Engineering
    2. Physical Threats and Vulnerabilities
    3. Network-based Threats
    4. Wireless Threats and Vulnerabilities
    5. Software-based Threats
  3. Network Security
    1. Network Devices and Technologies
    2. Network Design Elements and Components
    3. Implement Networking Protocols
    4. Apply Network Security Administration Principles
    5. Secure Wireless Traffic
  4. Managing Application, Data, and Host Security
    1. Establish Device/Host Security
    2. Application Security
    3. Data Security
    4. Mobile Security
  5. Access Control, Authentication, and Account Management
    1. Access Control and Authentication Services
    2. Implement Account Management Security Controls
  6. Managing Public Key Infrastructure (PKI)
    1. Install a Certificate Authority (CA) Hierarchy
    2. Back up a CA
    3. Restore a CA
  7. Managing Certificates
    1. Enroll Certificates
    2. Secure Network Traffic by Using Certificates
    3. Renew Certificates
    4. Revoke Certificates
    5. Back up Certificates and Private Keys
    6. Restore Certificates and Private Keys
  8. Compliance and Operational Security
    1. Physical Security
    2. Legal Compliance
    3. Security Awareness and Training
  9. Managing Risk
    1. Risk Analysis
    2. Implement Risk Mitigation Strategies
  10. The Security Infrastructure
    1. Implement Vulnerability Assessment Tools and Techniques
    2. Scan for Vulnerabilities
    3. Mitigation and Deterrent Techniques
  11. Managing Security Incidents
    1. Respond to Security Incidents
    2. Recover from a Security Incident
  12. Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery
    1. Business Continuity
    2. Plan for Disaster Recovery
    3. Execute Disaster Recovery Plans and Procedures

To Hire an AMS CompTIA Security Subject Matter Expert Consultant and Instructor who also teaches this class, call 800-798-3901 today!

Leave a Reply